Minimalist?

According to Jen H. at the Daily Post,

An artfully executed minimalist photograph is anything but mundane. It illustrates a moment in time, or an artistic perspective, with simplicity and grace.

Minimalist photography is characterized by a large portion of negative space, a fairly monochromatic color palette with good contrast, and an interesting subject that is able to stand on its own to capture the interest of the viewer. At first thought, it may seem like it would be easy to shoot an engaging minimalist photograph, when indeed it can often be the opposite. A minimalist photo can also effectively tell a story, in spite of its relative simplicity, and it is anything but “plain”.

For me, minimalism is about straight lines, stark simplicity and I agree, it should tell a story. I hope that some of these shots do, what do you think?

Can you post some minimalist photos? Join in here or check lots of other peoples entries.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/minimalist/

24 thoughts on “Minimalist?

  1. You always come up with cool stuff, I knew I’d be in for a treat, here. I’m going to use one of Robin’s photos in this challenge in a few minutes. Wanted to touch base, and see what you’re up to. I’ve missed so much. You’ll see what I mean. 🙂

  2. Love these! I get worried when language like minimalist & white space are used but when I see the photos, I understand. difficult to choose one but it would be the lamp post I think.

  3. My favourite is the intersecting whatevers, partly because I have no idea what the whole they are part of is.

    It’s weird. The idea of “minimalist” captures my imagination, and yet minimalist I am not! I’m wondering whether nature is: in my experience she’s profligate. Food for thought.

  4. I love this challenge. And I think you nailed it, Gilly. Yes, those are minimalist shots. Not exactly the big pictures. Just bits and pieces that when put together can have the feel of the entirety.

  5. Pingback: Angular

I would love to hear from you . . .

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.