Travel Theme: Architecture

Ailsa has chosen architecture as her theme this week so I’m showing you the mosque at Larabanga, Northern Ghana. It’s said to be 500 years old and the oldest mosque in Africa. I’ve always wanted to see the mosque at Djenne in Mali, supposedly the biggest mud and stick mosque but that will probably never happen, so even on a rainy day I was thrilled to see this one. Of course non-Muslims were not permitted to go inside.

There is a legend about an Islamic trader who discovered the nearby mystic stone

Hoping for a mystical experience - like the rain stopping!
Hoping for a mystical experience – like the rain stopping!

and decided to sleep wherever his spear landed. He dreamt of building a mosque on that very spot and in the morning woke to find the foundations had mysteriously been laid during the night. He saw this as a sign, completed the building and now lies buried under the baobab tree beside the mosque.

What do you think? was the trader the architect?

Join in at http://wheresmybackpack.com/2013/08/09/travel-theme-architecture/

14 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Architecture

  1. You always amaze me with the beautiful wonders you photograph Gilly. Great shot of you there too and what an interesting architecture indeed hon. Looks like a huge cactus. Great shots and thanks for sharing hon. 😀 *hugs*

  2. one of the most fascinating and beautiful buildings i have ever seen gilly!!! the shapes are obviously a function of the construction method, which gives it such integrity, the decorative design elements are brilliant, so simple and perfect in their asymmetry … a building for acknowledging and celebrating humanity!

  3. Beguiling. A mystery and a mysterious mosque. I like the architecture and whoever mentioned cactus, for whatever reason, I thought porcupine. It is true. You DO share the most interesting photos.

  4. Like you, Gilly, I’ve always wanted to see the Djenne mosque, but unlike you, I’ve never even seen this gorgeous organic structure! Is that a whitewash/lime coating – the creamy white walls accentuate the structural elements even more than the at Djenne – this is a real little gem and I’m so glad to have seen it through your lens!

  5. thank you, Gilly, for sharing one of your GHANA experiences! Are some animals there trying to get inside the mosque? They should know: “Of course non-Muslims were not permitted to go inside…”

  6. I love that legend, Gilly. I’m sure it’s more interesting than the actual truth. 🙂 It’s a really amazing structure. I like the idea of being laid to rest under a baobab tree.

  7. Gilly, you won’t believe it but I live right in Ghana and has never heard of the legend. At least |I don’t remember it from my history lessons. Shame on me! I do know of the mosque in Larabanga at least, though I’ve never been there or seen it up close like now. Those are great shots, Gilly. Thank you very much for sharing 🙂

    1. As legends go the actual truth is lost or diluted in the telling and re-telling of the story. 🙂 Have you heard of Okomfo Anokye’s sword buried in the earth at Kumasi that nobody can ever remove or uproot?

  8. That is one of the most strikingly beautiful buildings I have ever seen! Djenne and the churches of Lalibela are high on my list of must sees Gilly. Hadn’t heard of this before! Thank you.

  9. Wow! I have no idea if the trader was the architect or not (are there other buildings in the area built in the same style??), but it’s gorgeous and not like anything I’ve ever seen. Thank you for sharing these pictures with us!

I would love to hear from you . . .

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.