Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

This photo is very wonky because I took it hanging out of a hotel window!

Bursa is on the old silk route in north west Turkey and was once the capital of the Ottoman Empire. It is one the the largest cities in the country and very  industrialised. At the same time it is a very green city with lots of parks and gardens. The surrounding area is forested and mountainous, the mountain in the background is Uludag, the ancient Mysian Olympus, about ten miles outside the city.

This is my entry to the challenge, if you would like to see some more visit http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/weekly-photo-challenge-urban/


Add yours →

  1. Northern Narratives August 24, 2012 — 10:14 pm

    I really like this photo. It is urban and then the mountains and sky in the background add another layer to the scene. Glad you did not fall out the window :)

  2. Gorgeous shot from the hotel window, Gilly!

  3. ” I took it hanging out of a hotel window”. Well, what a great place to hang!

  4. You had a lovely view!

  5. Now I know what a “wonky” photo is……..lol

  6. i love the contrast in this pic. :)

  7. I love this one Gilly, the backdrop is perfect against the city lights.

  8. the moon in the sky, city lights, mountains, lovely photo!

  9. Very beautiful photograph! Frame-perfect!

  10. I hope you were hanging out of the first floor window ~~~~ : O
    What we won’t do to capture a shot….!!!!
    Well worth it, Gilly. It’s a great photo. I agree with Northern Narraives – the urben / the mountains –

  11. The risk was worth it! I love how the mountains glow blue in the evening light. Nicely done.

  12. Phew, for a moment I thought you were wearing crampons!

  13. Great cityscape – and I love the moon!

  14. great shot Gilly.
    What I would have given to see you hanging out a window

  15. Excellent choice of image for this week topic Gilly , I love it :)

  16. Love your wonky photo, Gilly. A scene not to be missed, even if it meant hanging out of a window to get it. ;)

  17. Congrats to you… I have just nominated you for an award… stop by and get all the details :)

  18. Glad you were safe. Lovely post Gilly. ;-)

  19. quite beautiful, and thank goodness you didn’t fall

  20. Okay, you’ve got me beat. I’m sure I could not bring myself to hang out of a hotel window that high up to shoot a photo. You go, girl! Great shot.

  21. Puts a great context on urban continuity; from Silk Road, Ottoman Empire; and Uludag in the background, makes one feel full of awe.

  22. Great representation of urban!

  23. Beautiful even if a bit wonky Gilly :-) I remember falling in love with Bursa and regretting the fact that we had so little time there.

  24. Wonky? Shaky was my expectation from that word, but not at all. Lovely capture. Fabulous, in fact.

I would love to hear from you . . .

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,727 other followers

